STEAMBOAT GOTHIC HOUSE, built 1873
A 1978 sketch by Charlotte van Valkenburgh Byrd, descendant of the original owners, Mr. and Mrs. Wilfred van Valkenburgh. The house, architecturally unique in this area, remained in that family in its original location on Franklin Street until the early 1970's when the Federated Women's Clubs accepted it for preservation purposes. It was moved into the Twickenham District on Lowe Avenue and is used as a meeting place and for social gatherings.
Item 1 of 2 (5843)Source: Charlotte van Valkenburgh Byrd
Date: 1978Rights: Reproduced from "Twickenham Receipts and Sketches" published by the Twickenham Historic Preservation District Association, Inc., 1978, with the permission of THPDA and the artist.