Marshall County: ROBERT S. PIERCE administrator of E A D PIERCE.

July 18, 1840

Limestone County: commissioners sale of the lands of ABNER E. ASKEW dec'd; comrs: SAMUEL JORDAN, NATHANIEL TERRY, R. A. HIGH.
Madison County: runaway slave committed to jail; belongs to CHARLES TUCKER of Morgan County.

Madison County: chancery; ELIZABETH ELLETT versus JAMES MONROE

ELLETT, non resident of the state--divorce.

July 25, 1840

Democratic Meeting: Bellefonte, June 30th. COL. CHARLES M. CROSS called to chair, JOHN BERRY, Esq. and CO. JAMES SMITH assistant, called to chair, John Berki, seq. and CO. James Smith assistant, chairman, DR. James Burrus secretary and DAVID H. HARRIS, Esq. ass't sec'y Committee: H. A. ANTHONY, JOHN W. REYNOLDS, THOMAS SNODGRASS, A. HARGESS, JOHN BERRY, F. RENSHAW, JAMES CAMPBELL, JOHN HOLLAND, JOHN CUNNINGHAM, WM. D. PARKS, C. L. ROACH, THOMAS EUSTACE, THOMAS J. HARDWICK, D. M. MARTIN, ALVA FINLEY, JAMES BURNS and BENJAMIN SNODGRASS. Also mentioned are JOHN MCREYNOLDS, JOHN SNODGRASS, DANIEL M. MARTIN, WYATT COFFEE and COL. BENJAMIN SNODGRASS.

Democratic meeting at Larkinsville, Jackson County, July 1st;
JOHN BERRY Chairman, JAMES WOODSEY and JACOB GROSS vice chairman;
WYATT COFFEE and JAMES W. CANNADAY secretaries. Committee: JEREMIAH
BROWN, COL. JAMES SMITH, JAMES B. WRIGHT, SAMUEL C. DAVIDSON, JOHN
JONES and WILLIAM G. LONG. Another committee: DAVID LARKIN, COL.
JAMES SMITH, JOHN JONES, JOHN LINDSEY, U. B. WARREN, S. B. RODES,
BROOKS SMITH, JOHN D. ALLEN and THOMAS WOODS. Signed JAMES WOOLSEY.

Marshall County: Democratic meeting: RICHARD GOLDEN Esq. chair; ARCHIBALD BAXTER and BOOKER SMITH secretaries: LOUIS WYETH Chair; ARCHIBALD BAXIER and BOUKER SMITH secretaries: LOUIS WYETH offered resolution; committee MICHAEL DITTO, R. A. FOWLER, CHAS. KENNEDY, JEHU HIGGINS, JOHN W. ANDERSON, JOHN NEELY, ROBERT S. PEARCE, JOHN H. BERRY, REUBEN HENSON, BENJAMIN MERRELL, B. B. RAMSEY, PETER KILFOYLE, ESTELL W. SCRIVENER, JAMES SCHRIMSHER, GEORGE CHENNAULT. ANDREW ICE, JOHN BAXTER, LEWIS MARTIN, FREDERICK ICE, BENJAMIN JOHNSON, C. W. ROGERS, JOEL DIXON, HUGH SINCLAIR, WM. MCEWEN, JAMES MCDANIEL, BOOKER SMITH. Signed: RICHARD GOLDEN PREST, PERCIVAL M. BUSH, EDWARD COX, WILLIAM YOUNG, WILLIAM H. CALLOWAY, SAMUEL LOWRY, ISHAM H. FENNELL, ISHAM WRIGHT, JOHN B. FINLEY, BURGES McGAHA, JOSEPH G. GARRETT, WILLIAM BARCLAY, JOSHUA K. ROBERTS, JOHN DOSS, GEORGE W. ALLEN and ALEXANDER DONALDSON, Vice Presidents.

Democratic meeting: Brooksville, Blount County, 4th July, 1840.
MAJOR JESSE WHARTON called to chair, MAJOR EMORY LOYD assistant chairman,
COL. E. ELDRIDGE and JOSEPH JOHNSON Sec'ys; committee on resolutions;
ISAAC WHARTON, WILLIAM MOORE, H. W. BOOKS, G. SHELTON, MAJOR R.
GRIFFITH, Meeting addressed by COL. WM. MUSGROVE.

GRIFFITH, Meeting addressed by COL. WM. MUSGROVE.

Jefferson County: Elyton. Democratic meeting 13th July; on notice of COL. MOSES KELLY, JAMES McADORY Esq. was called to the chair, on motion of SAMUEL A. TARRANT, JAMES P. LACEY was appointed secretary. Committee on resolutions WALKER H. BAYLOR, OCTAVIUS SPENCER, ENOS TRUSS, SAMUEL A. TARRANT, NATHANIEL SELF, JOHN SMITH, ISAAC B. NABORS, JOEL DICKERSON, JAMES K. JACKS, STEPHEN HODGES and MOSES KELLY.

Paint Rock Valley (Jackson County) Trenton, 2 July 1840. Democratic meeting. BENJAMIN FRANKS Esq., chairman. WARREN P. ROBERTSON Esq. and COL. JAMES McDAVID, vice presidents. MAJOR R. K. DRAKE and ROBERT AUSTIN secretaries. Committee on resolutions. CAPT. MALCOLM THOMPSON. CAPT. JOHN H. BRITAIN, ABRAHAM VANZART, Esq., JAMES McCORD,

THOMPSON, CAPT. JOHN H. BRITAIN, ABRAHAM VANZART, Esq., JAMES McCORD, JONATHAN LATHAM, Esq., JOHN J. CAMPBELL, WM. H. DAVIS, JOEL D. LEWIS Esq., JONATHAN C. CAMP, SALENES P. PADGETT, ROBERT BRIDGES and THOMAS BRIDGES.

St. Clair County, Springville. 4th July, Democratic Meeting: DR. JOSHUA W. HODGES, President. JAMES H. MEANES and T. M. BARKER, secretaries. Committee on resolutions; COL. G. W. PATRICK; COLS.

secretaries. Committee on resolutions; COL. G. W. PATRICK; COLS.
JOHN MASSEY and ORAN ROBERTS, HENRY BRADFORD, Esq., CAPT. JAMES M.
EDWARDS, JAMES H. MEANS and T. M. BARKER.
Morgan County. Somerville; 18th instant. Democratic Meeting.
HON. HORATIO PHILPOTT, chairman, JAMES B. GRAHAM secretary. Committee on resolutions; CHARLES McLAREN, G. P. RICE, C. E. B. STRODE, B. A.
PHILPOTT, WM. READ, F. M. ROBY, D. STOVALL, JAMES MURPHY, WM. SYKES,